The “Face of Fitness”? Is it really this?

 

I recently posted about my entry into the Fitness Magazine Face of Fitness contest. The response from friends, family, blog followers, and long-forgotten high school friends has been amazing.

Yesterday I was in fourth place and today I find myself in sixth place. For me the #FaceofFitness contest is not really about winning, but about a collection of strong and amazing women who represent what it means to be fit- both physically and mentally. I must say I am dismayed at the current lead contestants. My own opinion is that many of these ladies do not truly represent the same fitness values that I do. I have always believed that no matter the body type, weight, or chest size of a woman the true fitness value is how she feels about herself and her own body image. Fitness is about goals and improvement; It is a personal journey that isn’t measured by the size of your dress, but rather the improvements and life changes made every day. It is also about how you make other people feel and supporting and encouraging others as they make their own journey.

That being said- i’m okay with not winning this contest. I know who I am and I have an entire contingent of women who I get to inspire, coach, and be inspired by every single day. But I really would like to see a woman who TRULY represents the Face of Fitness win instead of a stereotypical model-esque woman.

If you want to vote for me please do and you can do so here: Vote for me!!!

<a

20121107-112005.jpg

Leave a Reply

